For Immediate Release:
November 16, 2018

For more information, contact:
John Erzen, II
Communications Director

Meetings Began This Week for All 11 Subcommittees

LARGO, MD – Prince George’s County Executive–Elect Angela Alsobrooks announced today that Major Riddick and Rosie Allen-Herring will serve as the Co-Chairs of her transition team. The announcement comes as all eleven transition workgroups met for the first time this week. The groups will continue to meet over the coming weeks to study best practices in multiple areas across the government and make recommendations moving forward.

Riddick spent 17 years in county government, working in the areas of budget and finance and eventually rising through the ranks to serve as Chief Administrative Officer under County Executive Parris Glendenning and later as Chief of Staff when Glendenning was elected Governor. Allen-Herring has more than 25 years of leadership experience having worked as the Managing Director of the Community Investment and Engagement Division of Fannie Mae and currently serving as the President and CEO of the United Way of the National Capital Region.

“I am honored that Major and Rosie have agreed to lead our transition efforts and I am very excited about the talent we have assembled from within the county and across the region,” Alsobrooks said. “I look forward to the great work they are going to do and the many recommendations they will provide to both help us hit the ground running on December 3rd and move our county forward in the future.”

Transition team subcommittees include the following areas: Budget and Finance, Central Services, Economic Development, Education, Environment, Transportation and Sustainability, Health and Human Services, Department of Housing and Community Development, Human Resources, Information Technology, Public Safety and Public Engagement.

Co-Chairs of those workgroups include, former county budget director Terri Bacote-Charles, Dennis Brownlee with NAI Michaels, University of Maryland President Dr. Wallace Loh, Bowie State University President Dr. Arminta Breaux, Prince George’s Community College President Dr. Charlene Dukes, former Maryland Department of Transportation and United States Deputy Secretary of Transportation John Porcari, former State Senator and Secretary of Aging The Honorable Gloria Lawlah, former Maryland Secretary of Housing Ray Skinner, and former Acting President of Howard University Artis Hampshire-Cowan.

Preliminary transition committee reports will be completed by early January 2019 with a press conference to announce the final report expected to take place in early February 2019. The transition office is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday-Friday. Those seeking additional information can email the office at or call 301-583-9910.

For more information and updates about the transition team and their work, along with a complete list of transition team members, you can visit,